Old 01-21-2013, 06:20 PM   #1
snydersnapshots

Default KBOS 787 declared a hull loss?

I heard a rumor today that the JAL 787 that had the fire at Boston was declared a hull loss. I can't find anything on it on the internet. Has anyone else heard anything about that?
The "keep my tail out of trouble" disclaimer: Though I work in the airline industry, anything I post on here is my own speculation or opinion. Nothing I post is to be construed as "official" information from any air carrier or any other entity.
snydersnapshots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 08:05 PM   #2
3WE

Quote:
Originally Posted by snydersnapshots View Post
I heard a rumor today that the JAL 787 that had the fire at Boston was declared a hull loss. I can't find anything on it on the internet. Has anyone else heard anything about that?
So, my smart-alek comments about how to do you repair a highly integrated "unibody-like" composite structure damaged by heat were somewhat accurate?
Old 01-21-2013, 08:44 PM   #3
Arrow

If true, I'd think that a real 'wait a moment' issue for buyers. What about ground collissions and other relatively minor but not-that-uncommon sort of incidents during a fleet's service life? Unless there's something substantially more at play here than what's been reported thus far, I would be surprised that the write-off threshold would be so low.

Arrow
Arrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 09:01 PM   #4
Highkeas

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arrow View Post
If true, I'd think that a real 'wait a moment' issue for buyers. What about ground collissions and other relatively minor but not-that-uncommon sort of incidents during a fleet's service life? Unless there's something substantially more at play here than what's been reported thus far, I would be surprised that the write-off threshold would be so low.

Arrow
I would be surprised if it is a write-off. Seems to me they could replace a section (47 or 48 maybe) of the aircraft.