Video of A-380 Approach to SFO

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Video of A-380 Approach to SFO

My Dad sent me a link to a video and I thought I'd pass it along here. A fantastic look at a Lufthansa A-380 approach into San Francisco.

http://www.wimp.com/approachlanding/
    The "keep my tail out of trouble" disclaimer: Though I work in the airline industry, anything I post on here is my own speculation or opinion. Nothing I post is to be construed as "official" information from any air carrier or any other entity.

nice. capt. is a bit of a comedian, eh?

Comment

1. I like the captian using the keyboard...I'm thinking that tells a story.

2. What's with the aileron panels doing all sorts of independent things?

3. The way the side stick sits way over to the side and how the guy seemingly slaps it back and forth- the "video game analogy" sure does fit.

4. Is the preferred technique to fly these things into the ground?- There sure are a lot of youtubes* of firm landings where there's a little flare, but the plane seems to continue right on into the ground at a pretty good clip.

*Other A 380 Hard landings: Oshkosh air show, the hard night one in Saudi
      Les règles de l'aviation de base découragent de longues périodes de dur tirer vers le haut.

Comment

Originally posted by 3WE View Post
        2. What's with the aileron panels doing all sorts of independent things?
        The Flight Computer has control authority over the ailerons and moves them according to the commands that the pilot gives. If the pilot doesnt touch the stick, the FC is going to try and make the airplane move in a straight line, which might include the movement of control surfaces. In other words, the FC moves the aircraft based on the perceived intent of the pilot, not the actual input.

Queue pages and pages of why this is unsafe.. let me just get some popcorn real quick.

Comment

Originally posted by Taliesin View Post