VIDEO: slightly rough landing at EWR

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• VIDEO: slightly rough landing at EWR

This is my first attempt at HD aviation videography, so figured I'd ask you guys' opinion on it. I'd like to do a lot more of these, and will probably invest in better eqp.

Likes? Dislikes? Suggestions? What yall think?
    Us, lighting a living horse on fire:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dH2_Q3oJPeU

Check it out!

Video looks okay to me. I'm not really sure what was rough about the landing, though.

Comment

Video looks fine. Maybe with all the spoiler deflection on short final it was a tad bumpy?

Comment

Originally posted by Peter Kesternich View Post
        I'm not really sure what was rough about the landing, though.
        I guess it's tough to tell by looks, but basically what happened:
        Is that the right MLG made contact first, then bounced... slamming us down on the left MLG (my side) pretty hard (which is the actual point of contact you're seeing in the vid). Spoilers came up about a sec later, and set us down on both.

If you turn the volume up, you can easily hear the right MLG connect at 1:20 but the left/spoilers don't hit until 1:23 in the clip.

I think part of what made the effect a bit more pronounced for those of us onboard, is that it seemed like we were going to land hard on the right MLG... and when the exact opposite happened, it just threw me for a small surprise.

Check it out!

Comment

I dont know what do you expect from a landing? For me it looks quiet normal and not rough.

Every landing you can walk away from is a good landing. Every landing you can use the aircraft again is a fantastic landing!

Comment

Originally posted by Soaring1972 View Post
            (...)Every landing you can walk away from is a good landing. Every landing you can use the aircraft again is a fantastic landing!
            *lol... very true!

Comment