A hard landing.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A hard landing.

A United Boeing 737-900, registration N34460 performing flight UA-1591 from Philadelphia,PA to Chicago O'Hare,IL (USA), landed on Chicago's runway 27L at 07:52L (13:52Z), but touched down hard with the tail contacting the runway surface.

Aviation Herald - News, Incidents and Accidents in Aviation
    Who's on first?..........

Did they died?
    Les règles de l'aviation de base découragent de longues périodes de dur tirer vers le haut.

Comment

Originally posted by 3WE View Post
      Did they died?
      No, but I'm thinking they got some unwanted face time with the Chief Pilot, Training Department, and the FAA...
      The "keep my tail out of trouble" disclaimer: Though I work in the airline industry, anything I post on here is my own speculation or opinion. Nothing I post is to be construed as "official" information from any air carrier or any other entity.

Comment

Any landing you can walk away from is a good one, and any landing in which you can use the aircraft again is a great one. I guess this one is somewhere between the two.

On a serious note, however, I'm glad nothing more catastrophic occurred. The article said the crew exited the runway and proceeded to taxi as if nothing happened. Is it be possible the crew didn't realize a tail strike had occurred? I would assume that the severity of the strike would correlate to whether or not it would be felt (i.e. if a few millimeters of the undercarriage brushed against the runway v. the entire rear section of the aircraft made contact with the ground).

-Chris

Comment

Easy to make a joke of it until you remember the Chinese 747 I think it was that had a tail strike and then some years later blew its tail off killing all aboard.
          If it 'ain't broken........ Don't try to mend it !

Comment